Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Sign In
Sign In securely

5/4/2018 » 5/6/2018
Alumni Weekend 2018

Latest News: Press Release

GS Announces Artists Selected for Sustainability Exhibit

Tuesday, August 25, 2009  
Share |
George School is pleased to announce that the artists listed below have been selected for the exhibition “Eyes on the Earth: Sustainability Through the Eyes of Artists.” A nationwide call for entries invited submissions from artists whose photography, painting and drawing, ceramics, sculpture, or woodworking focuses on the global issue of sustainability. Thank you to all the artists who responded to this call for work.

Jurors selected forty-one works by sixteen artists for the show, which celebrates the opening of George School’s Learning Commons and Mollie Dodd Anderson Library—a new, green academic facility that is designed to earn gold-level certification under the U.S. Green Building Council’s Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Green Building Rating System, the national standard for environmentally friendly building design, construction, and operation.

The exhibition will run on campus from October 15 to November 26, 2009, in the Learning Commons and Anderson Library, as well as Walton Center Gallery. An opening reception will be held on Friday, October 16.

Danielle Picard-Sheehan, George School’s gallery coordinator and photography teacher, organized the show. “The jurors and I were impressed by the quality of the works that were submitted,” said Danielle. “The chosen artists offer a broad range of styles, media, and content in their approach to the concept of sustainability. Many of the artists deal with this notion head-on by incorporating recycled materials into their work, while others address the theme in a more sublime and implicit manner.”

The show was juried by Stephen Perloff (parent ’05, ’11), the editor of The Photo Review; Barbara Kilpatrick (parent ’10), a New York-based artist who focuses on multimedia; and Derek Bernstein (parent ’07, ’10), a prolific artist/painter who resides in Bucks County.

Congratulations to the following artists:

Katharyn Addcox
Gary Cawood
Ione Citrin
Daphne Dwyer
Jim Fike
Theodore Gast
Elizabeth Johnson
Shirley King
Adam Long
Anni Lorenzini
Anthony Murray
Mayumi Oshima
Donna Stallard
Melinda Steffy
Anna Velkoff Freeman
Jemina Watstein